Children and Travelers are Artists

picasso quote

 

You grow up. Your taste evolves. You constantly decide what looks good and what doesn’t.

Getting dressed. Cutting your hair. Choosing a background image for your iPhone’s Lock Screen. Your desktop screensaver. What to hang on your walls.

These things matter to me a great deal; my surroundings have always informed my mood and disposition. The weather outside and the decor in my living space: the space in which I exist shapes and informs my identity, in a way.

The essence of travel implies a lack of commitment to one’s surroundings. It’s easier to experience the world through the eyes of a child; your “tastes” are constantly challenged and tested.

You are reborn.

Leave a Reply

